--

I'm so glad that you and your husband were able to navigate the unexpected and difficult circumstances this year brought and learn more about each other in the process.

So much of what you shared feels incredibly raw and real for me. My boyfriend and I have been going through a very similar situation - we started our relationship long-distance and have had interspersed visits over the past few years, but the 10 months since I've been in Austria have definitely seemed like an eternity.

I couldn't agree more with what you shared about independent time together. It's so much more important than I ever would have expected, especially since we both really hate video calls.

I'm so glad you two are back in the same place now!

--

--

Amanda Hanemaayer

Striving to live a life defined by empathy | writing about climate change, public health and social justice